Pecking Order (a repost)

I’m cynical about synthetic beauty. I’ve never seen the point. This poem is lovely.

NurSerial

And who doesn’t want to be pretty? But what’s the cost?

Poem by Victo Dolore from “Behind the White Coat” 

Just take a nip
Here and there
So I can be pretty
Fix my hair
Pull and tuck
Gouge at my eyes
Make me look pretty
Slim my thighs
Whiter teeth
A larger bust
I’m still not pretty
Another adjust
Raise those cheeks
Now my nose
Got to look pretty
Paint my toes
Some fuller lips
Sharper jaw
She is so pretty
Fills me with awe
Chisel me down
Tighter skin
I could be pretty
If I were thin
Sew me up
Dress me up
Give me more pain
So I can feel alive
So I can feel loved
Still not happy
Just a pinch more
Want to be pretty
Want to be adored
Soon I’ll be there
You wait and see
Soon I’ll be pretty
Soon I won’t be…

View original post 11 more words

Leave a Reply

